Blog Hopping

I was invited to participate in an author blog-hop and provided with a list of questions about my work in progress. Enjoy the sneak peek at my upcoming sequel!

1: What is the working title of your book?

I am currently working on the sequel to Wings of Shadow. The second book in The Underground Trilogy will be titled Wings of Memory.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

I have to admit that the second book in the series has proven the most challenging to write. You lose the element of surprise, and the novelty of the settings and characters within a sequel. I have tried to incorporate a lot of ‘news’ into the sequel: new setting, new discoveries, new storyteller, and I hope that this keeps the second book just as interesting as the first.

3: What genre does your book come under?

The trilogy are YA urban fantasies.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, I am terrible with actors and actresses. It is far easier for me to make a book recommendation than to identify an actor. This would be something that I need help from readers in answering. If you have ideas, please let me know!

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Wings of Shadow’s synopsis would be: How far should one go to save his species?

Wings of Memory’s synopsis will be: How much should one sacrifice to save his people?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

I have chosen to self-publish my series. I value the creative freedom and control that self-publishing provides. There are so many opportunities these days for indie authors. The audiobook version of Wings of Shadow was just released this month, and the narrator (Meghan Lewis) did such a fantastic job that I cannot even believe her narration is all my words!

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I have spent time—on and off—over the last year working on the sequel. The major challenge to writing a series has been that other stories keep screaming, “Work on me! Work on me!” Chey was relentless in her nudging, which is why Cerulean was released last fall. I’m trying to be much stricter with my other work in progress (a New Adult romance), and so far, they are patiently waiting their turn to tell their story.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I would love to hear what readers would compare The Underground Trilogy to. I have been purposely abstaining from most faerie literature while I complete my trilogy. I want my story to be unique and different from what’s already on the market, so I have chosen not to read other popular Fae series right now.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

In 2009, I was traveling through England with my daughter. We visited the Cotswolds, and the whole region just seemed like the perfect setting for a book. The area contains these picture-perfect villages connected by fields and rolling hills. Later in the trip, we were waiting to catch the Tube, and I had the same sense of perfect setting for a story. The Fae’s story followed shortly after.

For the sequel, I felt that to keep it new and interesting, we really needed to move to a different setting. I had a particular place in mind and planned a second trip last spring, to fully immerse myself in the setting. The immersion process is important to me so I transport my readers to different worlds as well.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

I hope that readers are pleasantly surprised by my sequel. Wish’s secrets will be revealed. Along the way, there are just as many surprises as my Darwin-worshiping faeries!

 

I want to thank author Irma Geddon for tagging me in this blog hop. Be sure to stop by her website and check out her NightmarZ series: http://irmageddon.com

One thought on “Blog Hopping

  1. Pingback: [Blog Hop] My Next Big Thing | Irma Geddon

Leave a Reply

