Announcing Whispersync-ready!

I have exciting news. I was checking rankings for my novel yesterday, when I saw this symbol on Wings of Shadow’s page:

Image

For those who don’t know, this means that Wings of Shadow qualified for Amazon’s Whispersync program. Whispersync allows you to purchase the audio for a (greatly) reduced price if you own the ebook. When you have both on your Kindle, you can switch seamlessly between the audio and the ebook versions. So if you want to listen to your favorite scene, you can just switch to audio without having to search for the right place. Or, if you are in the middle of an exciting moment, it’s easy to switch to listening-mode, so you can work out or drive to work.

Why am I excited? Audiobooks can be expensive, but Whispersync allows you to add on the audiobook for only $1.99. While I have the freedom to set my own ebook prices, I do not have control over audiobook prices. I love that readers, who might not have $15 to spend on audio, will be able to listen to Meghan’s adventures. Whispersync can also be a challenging program to get into. The narration needs to match up nearly perfectly to the text. Not all books make it. Luckily, I have been able to work with the extremely talented Meghan Lewis. [note: I fully admit my bias.]

To celebrate, I invited Meghan (the narrator, not the character) to participate in an interview about her experiences. Enjoy.

Tell us about your journey to becoming an audio book narrator:

I’m a working actor in Los Angeles, and am always looking for new ways to explore my skills. Though I had listened to audiobooks in the past, the only recording work I had done was voiceover for commercials and podcasts. Then Audible.com hosted a seminar detailing the ins and outs of audiobook work, and I started building up a portfolio and auditioning for books. Narrating audiobooks gives me a unique opportunity to jump in and play multiple (sometimes very dissimilar) characters at one time—a dream for any actor!

What was the process you used while recording Wings of Shadows?

After reading the book, I recorded the entirety over about four days; pausing to create fitting voices and accents for new characters as I came across them. In a technical sense, Wings of Shadow was recorded in my home studio, which is really just a glorified and specially soundproofed closet. I use a professional microphone and my laptop to record, which means I can move at my own pace and fix any mistakes as I go without having to worry about speeding through the material. Being my own engineer and editor may bring extra work, but it leaves me some great artistic freedom.

Who was your favorite character to narrate? Why?

Though I had a lot of fun creating the voices for each character, I would say Avery was my favorite to narrate. He has so much wonder and interest in him for the human world, and it was great to bring that joy and enthusiasm to life. Avery also has quite a character arc to go through as he meets his long lost father and brother, and ventures out of the faerie world for the first time. So taking that kind of personality through an alien environment and back again was really interesting.

Were there any particular scenes that you enjoyed performing?

The scene when Meghan first goes into the Underground was challenging, but enjoyable to narrate. Since it’s the first time these fantastical people are introduced, it was an exciting challenge to narrate the description of their appearances and demeanors. On the other end of the spectrum, the scenes with Meghan and the boys were great. Honestly, when the characters get giggly and embarrassed in love scenes, I get giggly and embarrassed…which is a lot of fun.

If you were in Meghan’s shoes, who would your preferred love interest be?

This is a pretty difficult decision, but as you might be able to tell based on an earlier answer, I think I would lean towards Avery. Both brothers care for Meghan a lot, and the dark, brooding side of Kiernan is appealing, but it would be hard for me to overcome the events that happened in Lord Killian’s care. Avery, on the other hand, is energetic and adventurous, and his tendency towards heroism seals the deal. In the end, I’m really glad I’m not in Meghan’s shoes. I’m not sure I could decide between them!

Purchase narration for Wings of Shadow here. If you do not own the ebook, you can purchase both ebook and audiobook for only $2.99 through Sunday.

Meghan Lewis’s other audiobooks can be seen here. 

2 thoughts on “Announcing Whispersync-ready!

  1. Hi im still a little confused… was there a book 2 that came out already. And if there was is it available for the nook?

    • The second book in the Underground Trilogy, Wings of Memory, will be heading to the editor in May. I am hoping for a late summer release. The first book in my trilogy was just released as an audiobook in April. Let me know if you have any other questions!

Leave a Reply

